Here are the answers to frequently asked questions about Pearl® Soymilk. If you are unable to find the answer to your question please click here to contact us.
Allergen & Dietary Related Questions
Ingredients Related Questions
Nutrition & Cooking Related Questions
Packaging & Recycling Questions
Storage & Shelf-life Related Questions
Allergen & Dietary Concerns
Can I drink PEARL Soymilk if I am lactose intolerant?
Yes. All PEARL Soymilk flavors are lactose-free and can be enjoyed by people with the condition known as being lactase-deficient. Lactase is an enzyme in the body that facilitates the breakdown of lactose—the natural sugar found in cow's milk. Some indications you may be lactose intolerant are bloating, severe gas, stomach cramps or nausea. These will occur between 30 minutes and 2 hours after drinking dairy milk. If you believe you are lactose intolerant, we recommend that you consult your healthcare professional to develop an appropriate diet.
Are there any dairy ingredients in PEARL Soymilk?
None of our PEARL Soymilk flavors contain dairy-derived ingredients. If you believe you suffer from dairy allergies, we recommend that you consult your doctor to develop an appropriate diet.
Does PEARL Soymilk contain gluten?
PEARL Original Organic Soymilk is sweetened with malt syrup which is derived from barley, so it contains gluten. PEARL Coffee, Chocolate, Creamy Vanilla, Green Tea and Unsweetened Soymilks do not contain ingredients that are known to be a source of gluten, but they have not been tested to confirm they are gluten-free. If you believe you are gluten intolerant, we recommend that you consult your physician to develop an appropriate diet.
Is PEARL Soymilk vegan?
Yes, all PEARL Soymilk products are made from soybeans and other plant-based flavorings. They do not contain any animal-derived ingredients.
[Back to Top]
Is PEARL Soymilk organic?
PEARL Soymilk is certified as organic by the USDA’s National Organic Program (NOP). The NOP sets farming practice standards and labeling standards for food ingredients and finished products. These standards must be met for an ingredient or product to be qualified as "organic".
Our soymilk is made from whole organic soybeans. Then flavorings are added to make our Original, Creamy Vanilla, Green Tea, Coffee, Chocolate, and Unsweetened Soymilks. Whenever possible, organic flavorings and ingredients have been used. All six flavors meet or exceed the national guidelines for organic certification.
Are the soybeans used in PEARL Soymilk genetically modified and where are they from?
PEARL Soymilk uses only whole, organic soybeans, which are not genetically modified. The soybeans are grown in the USA on organic farms. Our soymilk products are also manufactured in the United States.
Are there any preservatives or artificial ingredients in PEARL Soymilk?
No. PEARL Soymilk is preservative-free and contains no artificial ingredients.
[Back to Top]
Nutrition & Cooking
How much soy protein is in a cup of PEARL Soymilk?
A one-cup serving of PEARL Soymilk contains 6 to 8 grams of soy protein and can be part of a heart healthy diet. According to the FDA, a daily diet that includes 25 grams of soy protein and is low in saturated fat and cholesterol may reduce the risk of heart disease.
How much isoflavones are in PEARL Soymilk?
Based on several tests of our various flavors of PEARL Soymilk, an eight-ounce cup of soymilk contains approximately 30 to 40 milligrams of isoflavones.
Can I give PEARL Soymilk to infants or children?
Yes. PEARL Soymilk is appropriate for infants and children as a daily beverage or refreshment. However, soymilk should not be used as a substitute for infant formula. While it contains many beneficial vitamins and minerals, it does not have the same nutritional value as a formula created specifically for infants and young children. If you have any questions about substituting infant formula for any other beverage or food product, we recommend you consult your child’s pediatrician.
Can I cook or bake with PEARL Soymilk?
PEARL Soymilk is ideal for use in your favorite recipes. It can be used whenever a recipe calls for dairy milk. In some recipes that rely on milk to "set-up" or thicken, you may need to add cornstarch to chilled soymilk before cooking to achieve a smooth, creamier consistency. Because soymilk is lower in fat, it will not thicken like dairy milk.
[Back to Top]
Packaging & Recycling
Is there supposed to be a tamper-evident seal under the soymilk cap?
There is no inner seal that you need to remove from the soymilk carton. However, the cap has a tamper-evident ring that is broken when the product is opened. The screw-top cap is designed to automatically cut the foil seal inside the carton when you first twist off the cap. You will see three plastic prongs on the inside of the cap and these prongs cut the foil seal on the carton. Before purchasing the product at store, please check that the tamper-evident ring has not been broken.
What is an aseptic carton?
An aseptic carton is a sterile, airtight specially-produced package made for keeping food products fresh without refrigeration. Many foods and beverages like soymilk, soups, tomatoes and sauces are now available in aseptic cartons. There is no need to refrigerate unopened cartons. However, once opened, they should be kept in the refrigerator.
Is PEARL Soymilk pasteurized before packaging?
PEARL Soymilk uses aseptic packaging so this process involves UHT (Ultra-High Temperature) pasteurization.
Are PEARL Soymilk cartons recyclable?
Yes, the cartons are recyclable. However, not all cities have the capability to recycle Tetrapak containers. To find which cities recycle aseptic cartons, please click on the following link: www.aseptic.org.
[Back to Top]
Storage & Shelf-life
Why isn't PEARL Soymilk sold in the refrigerated section?
Like most soymilk products, PEARL Soymilk is available in "aseptic" cartons. These cartons keep the soymilk fresh without refrigeration until they are opened.
How long will soymilk stay fresh in the carton?
Each PEARL Soymilk carton is marked with a "Best By" date on the top. As long as the carton is unopened, it can be enjoyed until that date. We recommend that you store soymilk, like all food products, in your cupboard or pantry away from direct heat and sunlight in order to preserve its flavor. (Once a carton is opened, soymilk must be kept in the refrigerator.) PEARL Soymilk will maintain its freshness and flavor for 7 to 10 days after it is opened.
How can I tell if my soymilk is spoiled?
If you are concerned that your soymilk is spoiled, we recommend that you not drink it. Some signs that your soymilk may have "gone bad" are: unusual smell, taste or color to your soymilk, a bloated container, a punctured or cut on the carton, soymilk that has gone past the expiration date printed on the top, or soymilk that doesn't pour out smoothly or has turned "lumpy".
Can I use PEARL Soymilk beyond its Best By Date?
We cannot guarantee the product after the printed date and therefore recommend consuming the soymilk before the "Best By" date.
Could I freeze my carton of PEARL Soymilk?
We suggest you do not freeze the product because it could damage the carton causing it to break. Also, freezing may breakdown the stabilizers in the product, which would comprise the quality of the soymilk.
[Back to Top]